the photographer, Markus Scholz, copyright Leopoldina Academy.

Christina Moberg obtained her B.Sc. at Stockholm University and her PhD in organic chemistry at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm with Martin Nilsson. She spent a few months in the group of J. Normant in Paris, and then joined the group of B. Åkermark for two years. She became full professor at KTH in 1997. She has held visiting professorships at Louis Pasteur University in Strasbourg and at IRCOF, Rouen. She is presently emeritus professor of organic chemistry at KTH.

Christina Moberg’s research interests are within the field of asymmetric catalysis and are mainly devoted to the development of organic synthetic methodology employing homogenous catalysis. Special interests concern the role of symmetry in asymmetric reactions, the design of self-adaptable ligands, the use of interelement compounds as synthetic tool and recycling dissipative networks. She has supervised the work of 25 PhD students and published her work in about 200 scientific papers.

She has received several awards, such as the Göran Gustafsson prize from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Rosalyn Franklin Lecture tour in Britain, and Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite from the French President. She has served as vice President and vice Dean of KTH.

In addition to having been elected as an external member of the Cyprus Academy of Sciences, Letters and Arts, Christina Moberg is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the European Academy of Sciences, and Academia Europea. She was the President of KVA 2016–2018 and from 2020 she serves as the President of the European Academies’ Science Advisory Council, EASAC. She is honorary Doctor at Lund University, Sweden, Honorary Professor at Tianjing University, China, fellow of Chemistry Europe, and honorary fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.